PDA

View Full Version : Standard questions about a career in aviation

shaun2985
31st Aug 2004, 13:51
Hi there

I realise that his has probably been bandied around a zillion times, but I'm going to ask anyway.

I've been keen on becoming a pilot and have been for some years and I'd like some advice and questions answered from people who have been through the process to decide whether a career as a pilot is for me or not..

A little about myself....

GCSE qualifications: 6A's (including Maths, Science, English etc), 3B's

A Levels: Maths - B, Physics - B, Biology - C (not that good I know)

I'm currently a student at UCL (2nd year of an BSc Physics course) in London - passed the first year comfortable - phew!

While at university, I'm also enrolled in the RAF Volunteer Reserve University Air Squadron where I get training to be an officer while also getting a few flying hours in (not loads though). Apparently 300 students applied this year, and 30 were chosen, of which I was one, so, I think I'm pretty well rounded in communication, socially, academia, sports, interests, etc. (I'm not trying to brag)...

I'm physically healthy, have no asthma/breathing/cardiovascular problems, have no visual impairment. Have never touched drugs. In fact, the only thing stopping me qualifiying (medically) to be a fighter pilot in the RAF was my long legs (I was over by 1.2cm)... every other hearing, eyesight, peeing tests were all fine!

Embarrasingly, I can't swim (I used to be able to), but I'm re-learning. I still play other sports though like footie, cricket, and a bit of badminton. I'm not a wonderboy at any of them though!

I take an active interest in aviation, current affairs, and also architecture, but I'll admit that I know nowhere near enough about aviation to converse on your level (e.g. what the hell's a 'Honeywell Primus FRMS'???) and perhaps also the level as other students like me who have a similar interest in being a pilot.