PDA

View Full Version : Flight training in the USA - its decision time!

J1mbo
24th Aug 2004, 17:02
Hey,

I just wanted to get some of your opinions on the route i think i'm gonna choose. If i pass my medical on thurs im planning on visiting the schools and starting at the end of October.

Im planning on heading out to Florida to Phoenix East Aviation, Daytona Beach and doing an ab-initio course there and working as a flight instructor for a bit there. By the end of it, hopefully, i should end up with a FAA frozen ATP and about 1000 hours. I reckon this'll take about 18 months. Whilst i'm working as a flight instructor i'm gonna start doing a distance learning CAA ATPL course, and hopefully take the exams in Orlando before heading back to the UK. Once back in the UK i reckon about 3 months and £10,000 to convert to CAA frozen ATPL. Thats the plan at the moment anyway!

What do you reckon? Does this sound like a good route to take? In particular, i've ruled out a lot of places as they dont have the option of the flight instructor work.....do u think that these extra hours would be valuable? There's gotta be more chance of a job with them, right? Or would u just get the training over and done with and start job hunting staright away?

Also, ive chosen against doing the JAA approved courses in the States, partly because of no flight instructor work, partly the location of the school, also because im under the impression that they're less preferred by the industry than doing the conversion in the UK. One more thing, i'm right in assuming that those converting to CAA from FAA are seen just as highly as those who have studied at one of the well known British schools, right?

Any suggestions and help appreciated because its getting pretty close to having to shell out loads of cash! Thanks.

captmav
24th Aug 2004, 19:25
Hi J1mbo,

I know absolutely nothing about the school you intend to go to. BUT just a quick word of warning..