PDA

View Full Version : Props Vs Jets

Big Kev
17th Aug 2004, 06:33
Just wondering what the major differences are operationally between say using a 40-50 set turbo-prop aircraft to say a 40-50 seat jet aircraft?

I'm interested to know why an airline would choose say a Dash-8 prop aircraft over say an Bombardier CRJ-200??

I suppose it would be something to do with range, pax numbers, baggage capacity, destination strip sizes etc, but if anyone could add to that then that would be great.

Thanks for your replies.....

BK

EngineOut
17th Aug 2004, 09:43
An answer from a novice here...

A prop is more efficient than a jet, generally speaking, it is moving a large mass of air at slow(er) speeds, compared to a jet propelling the air very fast which creates a lot of losses in efficiency. On a per hour cost, you will probably find a 50 seat DCH8 is significantly cheaper than a CRJ.

Anyone with knowledge care to post a 1 hour block fuel burn for each of these aircraft as a starting point?

However, over a sector of about 3-400nm and above, the speed advantage of a jet will make up for those losses and allow for greater utilisation. On short sectors the difference between a jet and a turbo-prop will only be a few minutes.

Sheep Guts
17th Aug 2004, 12:16
Engine out,
Sorry would have to disagree. The jet will win in the end due to speed. Also theres the so called Modern day travellers phobia of "Jets Only". This may not be prevelant in Oz much, but sure is in the USA, hence the rate of knots at which they are being retired and replaced with Jets.

DHC-8 will be cheaper until its gets Older then well...........

I have no idea on say the Range or CRJ to Dash 8-300/400.?
Prolly is better I suppose allthough the Bombardier site has range for Q400 but nothing for CRJ?

Also propellors lose efficencieny at altitude way before Jets. Plus also Props are very noisey :} . Just ask my Doctor, Im off to buy another NR Headset soon the LightSpeed G3 heard they are good.