PDA

View Full Version : Having to pay for Type Ratings as well!

hose
14th Aug 2004, 12:02
Can any one help me out on this.

I am a very recent graduate of Oxford Aviations Training`s excellent Airline Preparation Programme (APP) with first time passes in everything.

Now that i am back home driving a van for £75 a day whilst going through the very sole destroying and frustrating ritual of sending out my CV with the bearest minimum 220 hours on it and getting absolutly no responses what so ever, something has finally dawned upon me.

If i stand even the slightest chance of ever actually using this licence that has alreay cost me over £70,000 to obtain i am going to have to spend a further £15 - £20,000 on a type rating.

With my £650+ a month repayments for the next 11 years of my life to fund the loan on my course and all the other mandatory living expenses i just can not afford this or will be able to find any one to loan it to me.

What i could do with some feedback on is this please.

* It is now `industry norm` to have to come up with this additional sum of money as every airline i have contacted that may consider employing low hour pilots expect me to find it

* Are people considering becoming a pilot including it into any financial planning and budgeting before starting down this route

* Where are the guys who are getting these type ratings finding the money from.

Eventhough i have a nice new shiny Frozen ATPL i feel as though i am effectivly still only two thirds of the way there and without the extra money it is effectivly useless!

Any comments would be most welcome.

GlueBall
14th Aug 2004, 14:18