PDA

View Full Version : Is being a Q.F.I. really that bad?

jimmyj
30th Nov 2001, 21:53
I am completely new to the concept of flight instructing, having always wanted to fly in the forces. However, due to poor eyesight the forces have rejected me and I have decided to move to the civilian sector and see being a flight instructor as a very satisfying career.

I am not yet qualified and face the same financial struggle that most of you guys probably have. Although I am not particularly money orientated I am aware that I probably will be by the time I am qualified, due to the cost, and I am HORRIFIED to hear you guys talking about "lowest area in aviation", "poor pay", "dole que" and "part time opportunities".

Surely the job is vital to the aviation industry as this is where everyone begins, why are things so bad for F.Is? I don't want to fly an airliner but I don't want to pay for all my qualifications just to sit in the dole que or work part time etc. Is the situation better abroad (I live in U.K)?

Come on you seasoned pros, please give the new guy some info.

BEagle
30th Nov 2001, 22:39
Unfortunately there is a widespread perception in the civil world that being a Flight Instructor is merely a method of building hours before becoming a people-tube driver.

In the military, only those with operational experience or, exceptionally, very high aptitude displayed at Advance Fast Jet Flying Training, are SELECTED for instructional duties. Hence the military has a very high standard of instructors.

But if you feel sufficiently motivated towards Flying Training as a career, may I wish you the very best of luck. However, as not many flying training employers have much interest in mere 'hours builders' these days, if you want to be a career FI who can offer an employer a reasonable guarantee, then you may be better placed than many....