PDA

View Full Version : Dilemma

Spikeee
3rd Jul 2004, 10:02
I am in a bit of a dilemma at the moment and it would be greatly appreciated if you could offer me your views:

Since my A-levels I’ve been working for a company for 9 months, the salary I am on is appalling given the amount of work I do, so I applied for another job and was successful.

I let my present employer know last week who then made an offer to match everything the other company offer if I would stay.

I am not particularly enjoying the job at the moment so I told him I would think about it. Later that day the director from the department across the office offered me a job with them, which would actually be interesting work.

Anyway, this is going far more long winded than I intended! (Sorry)

Each job offers the same pay (at present) and both want to send me on a degree this September. I am not happy in the job I am doing at the moment so I have ruled that one out but the other 2 I am finding it very hard to decide.

The job in the new company offers more responsibility, better conditions and is close to the flying school. Although, overall I will not earn as much (in the long run) as I would with the company I am with at the moment. I do not want to stay in the job as I want to be a pilot; this is merely a trade to fall back on and an opportunity to obtain a degree.

Also, I hardly ever get a chance to fly anymore, but with this new company I would be able to quite frequently. The amount I would learn is greatly less in this job than in the other and my work load would be significantly less to the point where my present employer said I would be very bored. But I am wondering whether this time could be used well, to work towards the degree as I hear it is hard to juggle full time work and a degree.