PDA

View Full Version : Getting my ATPL in the USA........

J1mbo
2nd Jul 2004, 12:38
Hey,

I've just finished a uni degree in the UK and want to get my ATPL in the USA. I have no flying experience as yet so want a course that takes me from 0 to the ATPL. As far as i undrestand the best route is to take my PPL, COMM and CFII etc then work as a flight instructor at the school whilst building my hours for the ATPL. All right so far? Is this the best way of getting my license?

I've found a couple of schools that seem to offer this, Phoenix East in Daytona Beach and Sierra Academy in Oakland, CA. Do any of u know these places? Would u reccomend them? How about any others worth looking at?

Also, do u know if they guaruntee employment with them, and do they pay a sensible wage? Once i have my ATPL, presuming all goes well, is that all i need to start applying for jobs with the airlines?

Sorry about all the questions, but as u can probably tell i don't have much of a clue about all of this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Fair_Weather_Flyer
2nd Jul 2004, 14:22