PDA

View Full Version : Which route from 0 to airline

NYCSavage
26th Jun 2004, 11:16
I have posted this on the Private Pilots forum but thought that you pros might not look in that forum and suggest a better idea....
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a newbie to all this stuff.

I want a career as a pilot and so I have been looking around for the best options.....

I figured it would cost me £3000(ish) to get my JAA PPL and from there I could go to get my CPL so that I could fly frieght whilst building hours to finally go for an airline pilots license.

But SilverKnapper decided to play with my head and explain to me that there is another, cheaper way....

ICAO PPL

what is this? is it cheaper? could I still go for an airline job eventually? if it is cheaper than what is different to the JAA? Can I use it in UK? Can I train for it in UK? Or is it cheaper to go to USA?

Could someone please answer this in laymens terms? (In basic english for me as I am a newbie remember)

englishal
26th Jun 2004, 11:34
Myself, I would go the conversion route. A lot of people poo-poo this route, but I think if people are clever you can go from 0 to ATPL for less than £30k.

In fact one European FTO (I won't publish their name here as I'd probably be in breach of Pprune advertising rules :D) are advertising for Interns if you are prepared to live and work in California (who wouldn't?) for a couple of years. Their website claims that the course from 0 to FAA CPL/IR CFI CFII MEI including JAA PPL in the UK is £29,900. After you have completed this you work for them, paid, while building your hours, they provide accomodation etc. At the same time you do the ATPL ground exams via distance learning, and take the writtens in the UK. Once you have 1500hrs they will provide a conversion course for the Intern in the UK.