PDA

View Full Version : Loans for Flying Training

Jimmy89
3rd Jun 2004, 06:34
Hello everyone,

I am a student in Australia and I would like to be an airline pilot. I looking at a $60,000 - $70,000 course, possibly $90,000. I would like to know a good way to earn money for the flying training. I am starting work right now and by the time I start flight training I can expect to subtract $15,000 away from the total. But I'm not sure where I can get the rest, my parents could pay a fair bit of it. I would like to know if there's any other way of getting the money IF I won't have enough with my savings and parent's. Is getting a loan a good way to obtain the money? If so, can someone from Australia please name some good Banks or Loaning offices which can give a good deal? If there's any other way to obtain the money, please tell me. Thank you very much.

Jimmy

Straightandlevel80kt
3rd Jun 2004, 20:45
Rob a bank?

:D

No, seriously, you sound like you have a pretty decent job. Why not sit tight and do it the modular way? So much cheaper in the long run. Don't overstretch yourself if you can't afford a type rating on top.

Aren't there still sponsorships on your side of the world?

Best of luck

redsnail
3rd Jun 2004, 21:17
No there aren't any sponsorships in Australia. There are one or two cadetships, the best one is Qantas's. That will cost you about $90,000 I think.
A good way? Find a job that pays you the most. Best way to do that, be entrepreneurial, get a trade or get a degree.
Try to keep out of debt.

Most CPL's shouldn't cost you $50K or so. You don't have to get the CIR or Instructor rating. If you're smart, you'll get the CPL with a Night VMC on it and head north to get a scenic/charter job. During the wet, you'll go home and do the CIR then. You'll save some money doing it that way plus it's a tax deduction.