PDA

View Full Version : Help with USA

Farrell
27th May 2004, 08:14
Hello Folks

I've been bouncing in and out of the forum for a few months and have learned a lot - thanks in advance for that!

I'm in a bit of a bind as my girlfriend is American, we've been going out for about six months and it is going very well.

I have been doing as much groundschool work as I can on my own, but now I have to start training for real. We both live in France at the moment, but now that my girlfriend is finished her college module here, she has to go back to Wisconsin - and we'd like to keep our relationship going, which would mean my moving to the US.

I have managed to get all the training information and conversion requirements from Adam Penner at Harvsair in Canada (Thanks for answering all my questions - even the dumb ones!)

......but I need advice on how to organise a working visa for the USA. The embassy seems to be uncontactable here in France and their website is worse than the CAA's for long-winded explanations.

I am thirty years old, have a European passport (Irish) and no criminal record.
My only option seems to be a K-3 fiancee visa, but if I get that, I have to marry within 90 days! That'd be a bit crazy, I think.

Sorry about the big post, but if anyone has any advice, I'd appreciate it very much.

Thank you

Wayne

FlyingForFun
27th May 2004, 09:17
Wayne,

Sorry, can't help with any direct answers to your questions. But if the website of the US Embassy in France isn't up to much, then try the US Embassy in Britain's website (http://www.usembassy.org.uk/) - I've found this site very helpful when I've been researching Visa issues in the past. Obviously the staff at the Embassy in London won't be able to help you, but that doesn't mean you can't use their website to find out what options you have ;)

Good luck,

FFF
--------------

Hufty
27th May 2004, 11:23
You might find it a struggle to get a flying job in the US unless you're a citizen.