PDA

View Full Version : Flight Training in Los Angeles, CA.

G73DC
15th Apr 2004, 12:35
Good afternoon,

In approx 4months I will embark on an intensive 3month training program based in Riverside, CA - i.e. www.allatps.com's 'Fast-Track' 90-day program. Training covers: Multi, IR, CPL, CFI-I, CFI-II and approx 250hrs including 3hrs jet time (C500).

A couple of friends have suggested I buy a plane and hire an instructor as a cheaper option to the USD$37,000 for ALLATPS. This sounds good, but not sure about the logistics.

I am a permanent resident of the US and accomodation is provided (free) in Los Anglese - hence the choice of location.

I am seeking help with:
1) ALLATPS, Riverside, CA. -- Review's, comments etc?
2) Has anybody completed this program with ALLATPS and have anything good to say about it?
3) Can anyone recommend a 'good' instructor based near Van Nuys or Camarillo areas?
4) Any other recommendation?

Thanks in advance,
Damian.

onehunga
15th Apr 2004, 16:51
Damian,

Some help with point 4 (sorry no idea about the other 3):-

- do a search on allatp and Riverside and see if anything relevant has been said
- do you want to fly in the US once you qualify or come back to the UK? If UK then you will need a JAR licence which will mean the conversion of your foreign qualifications. Amongst other things the sitting of 14 bl**dy hard exams! Again search on conversion and you will get hundreds of threads about the ins and outs
- I have no idea about the FAR's but think that you might be able to find out something on the FAA website (or buy one from Transair or similar - FARAIM is its name) to see the legalities of having an instructor teach you in your own plane. In the UK there are rules covering the remuneration of instructors and they differ depending on whether the aircraft is public or private category
- search on the private flying forum for information on purchasing aircraft - lots and lots of pitfalls, lots of benefits