PDA

View Full Version : yet another questioin about FAA to JAA conversion

ArcherII
9th Mar 2004, 13:40
I've been debating for the past two years on whether to become a pilot or engineer. I've finally decided to become an engineer, yet I will not let go of my passion for flight.

Currently I am in the US, and I have an FAA PPL, working on my FAA instrument rating.

I'll be doing a lot of VFR and IFR flying over the US in the next two years.

After that, I most probably will have to come back to Europe to find a job back home.

The question is...how far should I go with my FAA licences, and how easy is it to covernt say FAA PPL to JAA PPL compared to FAA CPL to JAA CPL.

I'm not interested in the ATPL(f) ground school anymore as I don't intend to do any type of flying anytime soon that will require it, but I would like to have a CPL wherever I am, to work on part time flying jobs such as tourist flights or traffic watch, or banner towing etc.

So should I go all the way to FAA CPL...and perhaps even multi at some point...then convert to JAA CPL...

or forget abou the advanced FAA ratings and just do the JAA CPL some day in the UK.

thanx in advance

Archer

ArcherII
13th Mar 2004, 12:26
anybody? I would really appreciate some feedback on whether I should get my advanced ratings here or in Europe...

PPRuNe Towers
13th Mar 2004, 19:52
Archer,

What do you think? Other than finishing off that FAA IR what would any further American ratings do for you? You've got what you safely need for the US touring and you're not wasting too much time or money on ratings that are useless in Europe.

Some will be divided on the worth of the FAA instrument ticket and its usability back in Europe. I favour finishing it. Great experience, builds on your skills, hopefully further develops judgement over time and exposure to the IFR system and could just save your life.

Regards from the Towers
Rob

englishal
14th Mar 2004, 11:02
Depends on how many hours you will have....