PDA

View Full Version : Cabin depressurisation

Tallbloke
20th Jan 2004, 03:18
I am looking for some advice.
My question is this: What happens to cabin temperature in the event of depressurisation at normal cruising altitude?

I am writing my thesis on Long Range Operations. Manufacturers are promototing the use of onboard oxygen generators to preclude a descent in the event of cabin depressurisation, the idea being that if the aircraft need not descend, it is permissable to fly over higher terrain, thus opening new routes for example over the Himalayas, where a descent to <10,000 feet is not possible. However, this is academic if the pax are going to freeze to death. Any opinions would be appreciated.

Bre901
20th Jan 2004, 06:02
Although I am not an aerospace engineer, I feel I could at least fuel some discussion. The answer would be : it depends.

If A/C & heating is still operating and can cope with some increased flow (after all the cabin pressure is regulated through a bleed valve), temperature control would still be possible.

Otherwise, let us assume an adiabatic expansion of the air in the cabin (probably some sort of worst case). Starting with a cabin altitude of 8000 ft (2438m), the ISA pressure would be 75264 Pa, temperature=20 deg C (293K). Depressurizing to 41000 ft (12496m) would drop the pressure to 17874 Pa. The adiabatic expansion yields T.P^(1-1/gamma)=constant, hence the final temperature will be = 293*(17874/75264)^(1-1/1.4)=194K=-78deg C.

This is well below the ISA temperature (-55degC) at this very altitude. Maybe the temperature would not drop below -55 degC if there is still some venting available, but the SLF would still be a little stiff in the end.

Hope this helps

Seat1APlease
20th Jan 2004, 06:46