PDA

View Full Version : Hints For a Wannabe

Fspilot
22nd Dec 2003, 22:01
Hi all,

Ok im a definate pilot wannabe, i have wanted to be a pilot since i was 4 years old, over 12 years now, and im now seriously starting to think of ways to improve my chances of becomming a pilot, i wrote off to numerous airlines a few years back to ask for qualifications etc and show my interest.

I absolutly love flying and im currently studying for my PPL and A-Levels, im planning on trying to get sponsorship once i leave collage.

Just wondering if anyone has any hints on how i can improve my chances??

Cheers!!

G SXTY
23rd Dec 2003, 05:49
Improving your chances of becoming a commercial pilot, or improving your chances of sponsorship?

Either way, you’re making a good start by doing a PPL. It demonstrates commitment to flying, and will give you more to talk about at an interview than someone with zero hours.

If it’s sponsorship you’re after, good luck. Work on around 1,000 applicants for each place, and even allowing for the 50% that will be binned straight away because the applicant couldn’t spell or used the wrong coloured ink, you will be up against some very stiff competition. Formulate a plan ‘B’ just in case – like the great majority of pilots – you fail to win sponsorship. A great interview question is to ask the candidate what they would do if their application fails – if you can answer that by describing your back-up plan (“I’d reapply as soon as I’m allowed / take any job to pay for flying / sell granny to raise the money”) you’re showing determination to succeed and maturity in considering the downsides.