PDA

View Full Version : What flying school do you recommend for full-time ATPL groundschool?

Spike001
9th Dec 2003, 06:06
Hi all

I'm gathering a selection of flying schools in the UK that offer a full-time ATPL groundschool course.

The ones which have been recommended to me from my flying school are:

Oxford (OAT)

Bournemouth (BCFT)

Cranfield (CATS)

Bristol - (but from my research they only seem to do distance learning courses)

Any others that I've missed?

Cheers :ok:

FlyingForFun
9th Dec 2003, 16:16
You are correct about Bristol - distance-learning only.

The complete list is here (http://www.caa.co.uk/docs/175/srg_fcl_ApprovedFTOs.pdf). Sorry, I have no first-hand experience of any of the schools you mention (other than Bristol). Oxford do seem to get consistently good review on these forums, though.

FFF
----------------

Flypuppy
9th Dec 2003, 16:26
I studied at ATA Coventry (http://www.atatraining.co.uk/about.htm)

Worth a visit, give Hilary a call.

razzele
10th Dec 2003, 00:21
Well ...

If not for the fab weather alone id go to Naples, Florida.

:cool:

I do my ATPL there. Its cheaper than average, with small class sizes. I got 6/7 in module 1, plus a PPL in naples' great airspace.

They certainly do something right here!

:ok:

2 people got 7/7, 1 failed 1, another failed 2 icluding a 74 in POF(unlucky matey!), one did not do so well.

anyother advice ?

JB007
10th Dec 2003, 01:04
Ditto with Flypuppy...

The 2 Petes and Sandy - the absolute best!!
They suceeded with the impossible task of getting me through the exams....!!!!!:ok:

Golddust
11th Dec 2003, 02:54
I've also been to ATA Coventry, and it was very good. Abselutely worth having a look into!

Best of luck :ok:

Spike001
11th Dec 2003, 07:25
Bristol, Full time groundschool??????

....where?

I've only been able to find distance learning courses.

Enlighten me :)

Alex Whittingham
11th Dec 2003, 17:42
Sorry, we haven't done full time courses since the JAA exams were introduced.

Jinkster