PDA

View Full Version : ATPL Theory (GULP)

Epic_mg
12th Nov 2003, 01:15
Im studying for my ATPL groundschool exams (Distance Learning) and finding it a real struggle to get the hours in after work. To those that are going through the course now, how many hours study are you managing each night and if anyones completed their ATPL's how long did it take before you achieve your goal.
Im considering turning to part time work and living on a shoe string budget in order to get these exams out of the way asap, anyone any advice?????

CAT3C AUTOLAND
12th Nov 2003, 04:50
I am not sure how useful my experience is, due to the fact that I did a full time residential course, but I used to attend the college from 09:00 to 16:15, then cruise off home feed my face watch the news and crack on with study at approximately 18:30. I used to study for between 3 and 4 hours every night, apart from Friday (night off) with periodic breaks and then hit the sack. Weekends I used to try and get 4 hours a day in, depending on how I had done in the week.

Whilst I worked full time, and knowing what it is like and how you feel when you come home, the last thing you want to do is put your head in a book for 4 hours. Therefore, it may be an idea to work part time as you have suggested and devote that extra time to your studies.

I completed the ground school from beginning to end in 24 weeks. From people I have known who have done distance learning, seem to nail it in 9 to 12 months, depending on personal circumstances of course.

Just keep going and you will get there in the end! I have just started my CPL, and believe me it will be worth it :D.

High Wing Drifter
12th Nov 2003, 17:56
The only stuff I have noticed is that it is easier to study outside of home; such as the local Library and even the train to work. This is probably especially so for anybody with kids and missus rampaging around the house, like wot I 'ave!