PDA

View Full Version : Pre Flying Jobs

rich49
11th Nov 2003, 21:15
Hi all,
I am at Uni at the moment and should graduate in 2007.
What jobs did you guys have when you were learning to fly? Did you sit on a till? Work in an office? I am doing a degree in engineering and that seems to be a hard job to get into in itself, let alone have the time to go flying! Cheers.
Richard

YYZ
11th Nov 2003, 21:24
Im an electronics buyer, really boring and nothing at all to do with aviation... we have all got to fund training somehow:(

rich49
11th Nov 2003, 21:28
yeah. I work in a supermarket part time to pay for my PPL. Im just wondering what job to do to get the cash together for the rest of the training. I don't think that going for an engineering job is too smart unless I intend to go for a career in it.
Richard

CAT3C AUTOLAND
12th Nov 2003, 05:28
Hi Rich,

Like your self I did a degree in engineering, specifally Aero, and I filled shelves at Tesco for 7 years part time (in and around colllege) to pay for my PPL.

On graduation I was employed by an aerospace manufacturing company to work as an engineer. I spent nearly 4 years there working full time to save enough cash to fund the CPL/IR. I have just started the CPL, and the savings account does not look as healthy as it did 12 months ago :D. Once to IR is done I will be skint :D.

Charlie Zulu
12th Nov 2003, 06:53
Hi Rich,

After finishing university I started work with Hyder (Swalec), just general office duties, which paid just enough for PPL flying lessons (still living at home).

That lasted for around 8 months before started work with my present employer (BT) within the IT side of the telecoms company.

Although I quite like the IT industry, I'm not one for working in a office for the next four decades. Looking forward to the day that I can put the resignation letter onto my managers desk! ;-)

Best wishes,

Charlie Zulu.

J-Heller
12th Nov 2003, 07:30