PDA

View Full Version : Ageing aircraft safety- your thoughts to help a student...

paperwriter
5th Nov 2003, 08:45
Hello to all, I am an engineering student writing a research paper for a transportation class and would like to know your opinions on ageing aircraft safety??? Thanks in advance, Justin

Flight Detent
5th Nov 2003, 19:30
Hi 'Paperwriter',
As far as I am concerned, the 'older' big jets are a much better setup than most of the newer ones.
You simply can't beat a full-time three man cockpit, doesn't matter how many supernumary crew or computers you might have aboard!
But I'm an old fart, so I DO know the difference.
There are numerous examples about where, if there had been a professional Flight Engineer aboard, the incident/accident probably would not have happened.(I stress the word professional here, since the FAA system has most of it's FE seats being kept warm with junior pilots, just waiting for a window seat - not a professional at all!)

I still get nervous flying as a pax on these new-type aircraft, 'cause I know what goes on in the cockpit, and there is nobody keeping an eye on business!

I for one will not be darkening the door of this new A380 when/if it ever flies - too many people - not enough human input to the final primary controls decisions!!!

When airlines advertise 'All new fleet' and the like, I keep right away, knowing they will be operating at least some Airbus types.

If it isn't Boeing, I'm not going!!

It's just the way I feel

You have a good one!

avioniker
5th Nov 2003, 19:43
If you're talking about reliability and quality of construction I'd MUCH rather be in an aircraft that's been through at least one "Heavy" check.

I am constantly amazed with the (daily) findings that can be traced directly to manufacturing slip-ups. After a plane has been through its first heavy the vast majority have been found and corrected.