PDA

View Full Version : Rwy Elev: 0 hpa

ILScat3c
3rd Nov 2003, 22:56
Can someone explain why would a pilot need to know the Rwy Elev in hpa. Could it be that is use in conjunction with QFE, and if so how would it be use. Approach plates in the US don't display this particular information.

I am reviewing the approach for Hongqiao China ZSSS what is the importance of the chart in the upper left in the plain view?

thank U.

End_of_Descent
4th Nov 2003, 00:01
I'm not an expert at QFE but according to the (Jeppesen) chart legend, the 0 hPa number refers to the "barometric altitude equivalent".
The way I understand it is such, that if you are using QFE and are receiving at QNH (e.g. from the METAR), subtract the "Rwy Elev" number from the QNH and get the QFE. E.g. at LSZH, with QNH 1013 hPa and Rwy Elev 50 hPa, use a QFE of 1013 - 50 = 963 hPa.
At ZSSS, airport elevation is almost sea level, so QFE and QNH are almost equal, hence Rwy Elev = 0 hPa.

However, I stand to be corrected by an expert.

As for the inset in the ZSSS chart (Jeppesen?), at least the Jeppesen 11-2 chart has a feet @ QNH to meters @ QNH table. China uses metric flight levels and altitudes, so the table is for those (western) airplanes using non-metric altitudes for quick conversion.

550m QNH equals to 1810' MSL. So, if you are asked to descend to 550m (QNH), ATC wants you at 1810' MSL.

keithl
5th Nov 2003, 21:17
Dunno about "expert", but I teach this stuff regularly and EoD is quite right, it's used to derive the QFE when only the QNH is available. Some operators still use QFE, and some types require one altimeter to be set to Threshold Zero for take off performance reasons.

A common source of confusion in your situation of 0 hPa, is when do you follow the QNH Altitudes on the Approach profile, and when do you use the QFE Heights, when you haven't changed the actual altimeter setting?

None
6th Nov 2003, 01:59