PDA

View Full Version : Oxford to relocate to Sabena Flight training

SkyRocket10
29th Oct 2003, 22:33
I was glancing over the online OATS course prospective for the APP and was surprised to notice that they are no longer conducting flight training at Tyler.
It appears all US based operations have been relocated to Sabena Flight Training in Phoenix.

As a prospective student I was amazed there had been no official announcement!

Can anyone shed any light on the reasoning behind this move?

FlyingForFun
29th Oct 2003, 22:53
Well, when I told a Phoenix-based friend of mine that I was going to be doing my CPL in Florida, he asked why I was going to be so far east, it would be nice if I could head to Arizona since I haven't seen him for a couple of years. I told him there were no schools out that way that did JAR training, and suggested that if he could set one up, I might change my mind. Maybe he took me a little too seriously?

Ok - I have no idea what the real reason is. But I notice from their website that they still use Tyler for the modular training, which adds even more intrigue.

FFF
-----------

oxford blue
29th Oct 2003, 22:59
An explanation is given on Oxford's own website on this (http://www.oxfordaviation.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=849) link.

fly-half
30th Oct 2003, 05:45
It's absolutely the right decision to make and I congratulate the management to take it! Tyler was simply in no way a "fair-weather base". The students (customers) will now benefit from the superb weather in Phoenix.

I just hope they don't find their instructor has 6 or 7 students like was common in Tyler when I was there. The weather was to blame for my 4 week delay, apparently and nothing to do with the fact that I had to share my instructor with 6 other students. Sorry, that should be 6 other customers.

FlyingForFun
30th Oct 2003, 16:16