PDA

View Full Version : Distance learning

adam400
27th Oct 2003, 01:35
First of all I will apologise for asking such a basic question.....

Having always considered integrated training as the best option, after reading this forum i am swinging to thinking of studying modular and going about getting a fATPL via distance learning. I was wondering if anyone could just give me the basics of undertaking distance learning. eg. is a PPL a requirement to start?

Also having completed an economics degree, i am now a full-time professional athlete and i was wondering if anyone had any advice as to whether i could pursue my swimming career while undertaking the distance learning? (I have all day free from 9ish till 4ish) Am i being realistic?

Any advice and a general pointer in the right direction would be much appreciated.

Cheers guys.

Adam

Send Clowns
27th Oct 2003, 06:50
You do need a PPL before the official start of your course. Of course no-one can stop you brushing up on the books before that, and it will help your PPL exams - in fact if you work really hard at these, and take the broadest interpretation of the requirements it will be a help towards your ATPLs.

You can certainly carry on swimming. The CAA recommendation is 15 hours study per week, though more than this is perfectly acceptable. You are supposed to do 650 hours of study - 65 must be in the classroom, but most courses give around 120 hours of classroom study.

Most schools split the course into two modules, each allowing you to sit 7 exams of the 14. Different schools split the subjects differently, but that is not to important as they are carefully thought out to complement each other.