PDA

View Full Version : In sections, or all at once?

GOH
26th Oct 2003, 17:07
Hi

I am just looking for advice. One day I would like to be a commercial pilot but I am not really shore which way to go. I have narrowed it down though. I dont want to go to the air force! I want to get a degree in maybe architecture first and then maybe go on and try to get a cadetship in Aus or EU (born in Ireland) (I know I know there arnt many around and may not be for quite some time but things may change in 5 years?) OR I could gradually learn to fly while I am in my last year of school OR could I do it all at once and get my ATP when I have finished my degree? Sorry I don't mean to bother anyone but I don't know a lot about courses! :O

Thanks for your help!

GOH

redsnail
26th Oct 2003, 23:46
Cadetships are different in Oz versus the UK. Oz you pay big bucks for them while in the UK they pay either for half or all of your training. As you may have noted, there aren't many cadetships on offer at the moment in the UK and they are extremely competitive.

A couple of things. There's nothing wrong with waiting and doing a degree. Make sure it's a degree you want to do and not one that you think will impress the recruiters. Have you been flying (in little things) before? Have a go and see if you actually like it? (Well, love it really)