PDA

View Full Version : Hi im a newbie who needs help

vs002
25th Sep 2003, 05:59
Hi,
I have only just joined however I am sooooooooo overwhelmed by the amount of posts and members i dont know where to start. So if its ok I ll post my questions here. I am only 14 and live in chiswick london (right under teh LHR flightpath) I ahve wanted to fly since I flew fro HKG-LHR with CX. I simply loved it I have flown a lot ever since. However I really want to become a pilot. I dont know any pilots and am down in LHR all the time (my dad flies the hkg run a lot (as he works in hong kong)) and see dozens of pilots howver I never have enough courage to talk to one. I would love to be able to know or tlak to an airlien pilot at leats on the internet, as it is really upsetting me lol. Thanks

Brandon Acton-Bond

J-Heller
25th Sep 2003, 08:43
Brandon,

Welcome to the forum, and check your PM's. Best advice in the short term would be to get a part time job, save some cash, and get some lessons towards your forthcoming PPL!

Best of luck,

JH

av8boy
25th Sep 2003, 12:58
Brandon,

Having been an air traffic controller for a number of decades now, and in that my oldest, dearest friend has been a pilot for about the same amount of time, I think I may be uniquely qualified to provide some pointers on getting aircrew to converse...

First, understand that if you pleasantly engage a pilot in conversation, it might be the first time all week that they feel they've been treated like a human being. The key here is to show a genuine interest in aviation as well as a little preparation. Remember, everybody flies, but hardly anyone knows much about how it works.