PDA

View Full Version : your advice on my path to ATPL pleeease!

moo
1st Sep 2003, 02:01
Right, here's there scenario. I have just turned 24 and have £30000 saved. I have 6 years experience with BA as an avionic technician on the longhaul fleet and have good academic qualifications - I have two years left on a part-time basis to finish my degree (electrical engineering). At the moment i'm managing to save £700 per month.
In two years I will have a degree and approx £47000 in the bank not including interest and other returns (stock market & premium bonds) from my lump sum at which point I intend to leave my job completely and study the integrated course at one of the cheaper FTOs e.g. Cabair, Aeromadrid etc.
Here's my dilemma. Do I:

1. Carry on with this plan and (bearing in mind that a course at Aeromadrid/Airmed lasts approx. 20 months) emerge from training at 27/28 years old

or,

2. Leave work in a years time with approx. £37000, get a loan for approx. £15000 and study the integrated course as described above and emerge from training at 26/27 years old

I know there's only a year in it, but I am starting to get on a bit and the majority of the money to finance my training has already been saved. I am aware that the recruitment market is depressed but you have to be in it to win it hey? With this plan I could be FznATPL in two an a half years from now. With option 1 its three and a half....
I would greatly appreciate the views and advice of the infinitely wiser of you out there!

redsnail
1st Sep 2003, 03:01
Stay and get all the money saved up. It will be difficult to service a loan unless you are working....
The market should be a bit better although you had better budget the real possibility of funding either an instructor rating or a type rating. (hopefully the market will have improved by then so neither will be needed).
You also will have finished your degree too. It does look better on your application forms.