PDA

View Full Version : Waypoints

Finbarr
23rd Aug 2003, 16:16
(I'm sure this one has been aired here before but this is my first time on this (ie ATC) Forum)

What is the point of having waypoints that are [apparently] never used (such as DELBO, BEREK) and then using DME distances before a station instead (eg when coming down from up north one is cleared to "F200 75 before MID" then later "F150 50 before MID".

Why not give these points names and then we wouldn't have to create them in our route?

qwerty2
23rd Aug 2003, 17:56
The CAA pen pushers require a named waypoint where routes cross although the availabilty of viable 5 letter names is already stretched.

Very often these waypoints don't meet the operational need to define a descent or climb against other traffic/sectors so you get a DME instruction instead.

Arkady
23rd Aug 2003, 22:26
Some operators have difficulty finding intersections, particularly if a direct route has been issued that has caused the FMS to drop the point. Nav Aids always seem to be able to be found whether they are on the planned route or not.

fourthreethree
24th Aug 2003, 05:06
You are assuming you are on route. If you are on a direct track to, say, REFSO, then the position 20NM before REFSO can be anywhere on a 20NM radius around REFSO.

I choose this as an example because if you were on route, then we would say be level at GORLO, which was created simply because it is 20NM before REFSO.

24th Aug 2003, 17:25