PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - best flying school to enroll in the philippines
Old 11th Oct 2009, 12:28
M 0.78

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Safety Pilots???

Jetcruiser says:

"A safety pilot is the one who takes over if Student paks-up on what he is doing.

"A safety pilot is somebody who takes control if the Student is no longer qualified to shoot an specific approach."

I say:

If the "safety pilot" is a rated instructor flying with a student, then he is a "flight instructor" and not a "safety pilot." In this case, the flight would have to be logged as dual instruction by the student.

Jetcruiser says:

"My point is, even Airlines assign Pilots as Safety pilots."

I say:

What airlines are those? I have been flying for a major airline since 1991. I have never ever seen or even heard of a "safety pilot" in the airline.

Jetcruiser says:

"There is really no Illegal here or being unsafe, because in the very beginning of the word it says " safety" pilot.

"So, how can a safety pilot be an unsafety pilot?"

I say:

You can call that person anything you like. You can call him the "Prince of Wales" if you like. But in the end, those so-called "safety pilots" utilized by the great majority of pilot schools in the Philippines have no business flying with student pilots who are logging solo time. Read your CAR's.

If a student flies with a "safety pilot" and logs the flight as solo, he would have been carrying a passenger, which is illegal. The penalty is revocation of the student's license.

From Part 1 of the new CAR's:

"Solo flight time. Flight time during which a student pilot is the sole occupant of an aircraft."

Which of those words don't you understand?

Did you fly with "safety pilots" during your "solo" flights as a student?

Did you fly as a "safety pilot" with student pilots on their "solo" flights?

Do you know people who have done this or who are still doing it?