PPRuNe Forums - View Single Post - My MAS Cadet Pilot application experience.
Old 8th Jun 2005, 10:49
Deodorant

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flightleader hasn't replied, i'm so disappointed T_T

Hector > I'm cool, anonymous and civilised debate on random message boards is a hobby of mine. Admittedly, I'm not very good at it, but still!

Reading back to my previous post it came across as a little more hostile than I wanted it to.

Personally I have nothing against the HR staff. Being from the same line I can understand how it's hard to be enthusiastic choosing 10 people from a pool of 1000 applicants, especially when you've been doing the same damn thing over and over and over again for 10 years.

[Semi-Unrelated, Long-winded story below]

And at least I have to give them credit for being honest with their feelings. I have a friend in a local subsidiary of a big multi-national's HR department. They have a yearly management trainee drive, and they treat the applicants like kings. The introduction week is held not at the company, but at a swanky hotel with catered meals.

Sounds great, no? Well, this star treatment is purposely to snare the suckers - they find themselves smack in a 10+ hour a day, high stress environment with low pay and virtually no promotion prospects. They can't leave either, thanks to a 2-year bond that they signed.

After the 2 years more than half of them leave. The company itself isn't affected though; the replacements are eating food in a posh hotel as the new batch of management trainees.

So in this way, apparently the company saves a lot of money because of not having to dole out promotions or pay raises.

I can't imagine being in those employees shoes - being treated like royalty specifically for the purpose of getting exploited for two years. Kinda like how cows are bred specifically for their meat, haha.

[Semi-unrelated, Long-winded story above]